BLOG TOUR + REVIEWS & GIVEAWAY: Declaration by Rachael Wade

Displaying DeclarationTourBanner1.png
Hey guys!!! Today I’m happy to share with you my thoughts on Rachael Wade’s books.
Beware. These ones are filled with drama, and they are such a roller coaster, but it’s all worth it in the end 😉
oh, p.s. you can click on the banner to see the rest of the tour schedule!
5.5"X8.5" Post Card Template
Title: Reservation
Author: Rachael Wade
Series: Preservation #2
Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance
Publication Date:
Source: I was given a review copy in return for an honest review

add-to-goodreads-button31

Synopsis

A sequel to the Amazon bestselling romance, Preservation, told from Ryan’s point of view.

Old Habits Die Hard.

Ryan Campbell is not only leaving his title of Professor behind to move on to bigger and better things at Simon and Warden Publishing, he’s also become Seattle’s rising literary star. Sitting on the overwhelming cusp of newfound fame, he learns soon enough that being popular has its downside.

Attracted to the buzz surrounding his new career, former lovers begin to creep back into his life, and potential ones emerge with enticing advances. While he works to juggle reserved, yet stressful, wedding plans with Kate and his new public image, he has enough to manage without worrying about Carter and Dean—Kate’s loveable albeit eccentric friends—and their latest shenanigans.

Surrounded by a lifestyle that includes temptation at every turn, Ryan finds himself immersed in a world full of scandal and lies, where his oldest weaknesses thrive and his ghosts return to haunt him. Questioning whether his life with Kate is his best path, he must discover if he’s still capable of being the man he aspired to be when she first became his, or if happily ever after is only an illusion.

My Feelings!
SOOO, Reservation? I liked it 🙂 Or more specifically, I had mixed feelings about it. First of all, I should tell you that I’m a girl who’s all for the drama. I mean, the angst and the fears and the troubles characters have in their lives and the things they have to do get over those bumps in the road make the story that much better. But, still. There’s a limit to how much I can handle, and I felt that Reservation crossed that limit a little. But, not to say that it wasn’t a good read!! Because it actually was a pretty good one.
The story starts off after the first book, Preservation, ends. BUT this time, we get Ryan’s point of view. If you haven’t read Preservation yet, you should probably do that first because there’s just so much that goes on that I feel like it’s necessary to read the first to understand the second. Anyways, Ryan.
mixed-feelings-gif
This was basically how I felt about him. Ryan was my typical swoonworthy male. He was completely HOT and the chemistry between him and Kate was OFF THE CHARTS. It was so fun to read their romance and their good days, because it just made me feel so happy. But, then come his decision-making skills. Honestly, not so great. I was so frustrated with him at points, and yeah, I got that he was in a whole new environment being famous and all, but SERIOUSLY, RYAN? SERIOUSLY? At some points, I just wanted to smack him. What I liked most about this though, was that I got to hear a little of Ryan’s thinking about the stuff he did in Preservation and everything about what he does in Reservation. Book 1 is Kate’s POV, and I really did like Kate! But, hearing Ryan’s side of the story made his asshat moves a little more credible and clear. It explained some things that I needed explained 😉 YAY!
Kate was the same old Kate. HAHAHA. JK. I really did appreciate Kate in this one, but just like Ryan, she just had waaay too much going on. She had some issues that she needed to deal with, and sometimes I do think she put Ryan through hell for her own selfish reasons, but I also loved the fact that she was willing to face her problems, and she really did try and save everything in her life. I loved the reality and love that Kate brought to Reservation, because it was only through his feelings for her that I got to see the Ryan I love and the Ryan I adore.
In all honesty, this book was one HELL of a ride. I went through happiness, pure joy to sheet-tearing frustration and anger. Ryan’s trying to balance his new life of a celebrity, but he’s pulled in so many different directions, and that alone puts such a strain on his relationship with Kate. I felt for Kate. I really did, and I appreciated her calling Ryan out on his b.s. and his failures, because I felt that if he couldn’t handle everything, he didn’t deserve it. Kate made him work for their love, and she fought for it too. HARD. And that was one of the better things about the book. The chemistry between the two of them was still HOT HOT HOT. Their times together were fun and warm, but their troubles had me worrying the ENTIRE book. I was so torn about not only whether they would get through everything (because there were just SOOO many problems) or if they wouldn’t and this relationship that was fought so hard for would crumble to pieces.
I was really invested in Kate and Ryan’s story. Carter, Kate’s best friend secretly crushing on her, was probably my favorite character because he was one of the people who just said it like it was, and I appreciated that. AND I really was rooting for him 😉 BUT ITS OKAY because I get him all to myself in Declaration, aka book 3 😀 Anyways, the only con about Reservation was the over-the-top drama. I thought there was a little too much of everything: frustration, angst, ego, miscommunication, etc. It made for a GREAT story, which I really did enjoy, and a GREAT couple, and I would definitely recommend you give it a go 🙂

3.5 dramatic butterflies from me 😉

4 butterflies

NEXT UP, We have Book #3, and this tour’s spotlight: DECLARATION, aka Carter’s AMAZING story  *grins*
Displaying Declaration.jpg
Title:Declaration
Author: Rachael Wade
Series: Preservation #3
Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance
Publication Date: October 7th, 2013
Source: I was given a review copy in return for an honest review

add-to-goodreads-button31

Synopsis

Featuring characters from Love and Relativity.

Carter Montgomery spent most of his life blending in, and he liked it that way. It was always better to be seen, not heard. And while a theatric streak and friendly demeanor might have fooled most people, he knew the truth—he was the shy one. The quiet kid most people forgot about. Some might have considered that a bad thing, but those people all wanted to be in the spotlight.

The only place Carter didn’t mind attention was on stage, with The Hellions. Once content in his comfort zone in Seattle, Washington, he only knew three things: confrontation was to be avoided, keeping the peace was priority, and the moment he lost Kate Parker to Professor Ryan Campbell, he had no clue what to do with his life. Playing gigs, working at Pike Place Market, and watching BBC after the love of his life sailed off into the sunset just wasn’t going to cut it anymore.

Desperate to escape his rut, he takes a cue from Kate and chooses a random place to relocate—a small island across the country, where no one knows his name and memories of unrequited love aren’t found at every turn. Just when he thinks he’s found the perfect place to unwind and sink back into the shadows, in bursts Whitney Sinclair, a saucy firecracker who loves life and refuses to settle for second best. Full of contagious energy, she dares him to be brave, convincing him that it might finally be time to tell the world what he wants.

It might be time to make a declaration.

My Feelings!
AHHH!!!!! HANDS DOWN, MY FAVORITE BOOK OF THE SERIES 🙂 🙂 🙂 I think I mentioned up there that I really liked Carter. Well, Carter Montgomery, I FREAKIN LOVE YOU!!! hehe. Carter has been my favorite character for a while now, and it was sooooo nice to finally get his story. And even better? It’s from HIS point of view. Double YES!
Hehe. Okay. So, Declaration was such a good story. After having his heart broken by Kate, when she chooses Ryan, Carter moves away to get some space and find who he is without falling head over heels in love with a girl who’s got a serious boyfriends. He’s still torn over Kate’s decision, but he’s trying to move on, and somehow, he ends up in this place in the middle of nowhere, aka Sanibel Island, but thank god for that, because here he meets Whitney.
From his best friend days, Carter has been the most attractive out of all the Preservation characters, in my opinion 😉 I loved him, and I felt for him, and I fell for him hard.
 tumblr_mry5nzzyND1s8d8uno3_500
So, when I get more of his beautiful musician talents and his feelings about everything, it was everything I hoped for. Carter always had this feeling of being ignored, just because of his past with Kate, and he’s trying to get over that. But, he’s loyal to a fault, and in my head, that was a HUGE reason that he couldn’t get over Kate sooner. He was just so lost without her feeling the same way, and he was trying to get past the rejection. But, Whitney changes everything for him.
First off, I’m so glad Whitney was who she was. I needed that down-to-earth, straight, and witty girl in this series. But she was also emotionally challenged. She my perfect mix of attitude and emotion, and I needed to see that character. And, man, did Whitney gave it to me. Declaration had me laughing and losing my breath, bit by bit, because of all the witty banter between the two. It was SOOO CUTE. And the perfect addition to this series. Whitney was like no one Carter had ever met before. She was not only beautiful, but she was intelligent as well. She, of course, had her own baggage, as did Carter, so they took things slow, but honestly, they were the perfect couple from the beginning.
Swoon_2
They hit it off immediately, and at first they were just friends, but what I loved so much about Carter and Whitney’s story was that they complemented each other PERFECTLY. Carter got Whitney to open her heart up and accept his love for what it was, and have faith in something other than her walls, and he tore down those walls. And Whitney did the same thing for Carter. She showed him what real love was, and he realizes that what he felt for Kate was only a fraction of what Whitney was, and that was the most beautiful part of the story. Ultimately, Carter gets exactly what he deserved: the love of his life and his happy ending.
This book was such an emotional journey, and Carter and Whitney had the unavoidable bumps in the road, but they handled their problems and lives with grace and maturity. I loved how they completely gave themselves to the other, and it made my heart soar. Two such perfect people coming together made for a beautiful story. This was definitely my favorite of the series, and I definitely recommend to all of y’all. I know everyone will fall in love with Whitney and Carter, just as I did.
4.5 SOARING  BUTTERFLIES FROM ME!!!!! ♥
4.5 butterflies
*****************************************

About the Author

Displaying Rachael.jpg
Rachael Wade writes edgy New Adult and Adult romance and science fiction. She is the author of the Amazon bestselling PRESERVATION SERIES, THE REPLACEMENT, and LOVE AND RELATIVITY, as well as the paranormal romance series THE RESISTANCE TRILOGY. When she’s not writing, she’s busy going to concerts, watching too many movies, and learning how to protect animals and the environment. She’s an avid Brandi Carlile fan and loves all things Tim Burton. Visit her at RachaelWade.com and LightsOnLove.com, and come chat with her on Twitter @RachaelWade.

3 book covers

BUY LINKS:

Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

Giveaway

Enter to win….

-an e-book copy of Declaration

-Declaration guitar pick necklace

Enter a  Rafflecopter giveaway 🙂

3 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR + REVIEWS & GIVEAWAY: Declaration by Rachael Wade

  1. Hey Tusharaa, thanks so much for being on the tour and for these awesome reviews! If you have a moment and wouldn’t mind posting them to Amazon as well, it would be so very much appreciated. 🙂

    Thanks for reading!

    Much love,
    Rachael
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

