REVIEW: Double Fault by Janine Caldwell

Double Fault (The Vortex Series, #2)
Title: Double Fault
Author: Janine Caldwell
Series: The Vortex Series #2
Genre: YA Romance/Science Fiction
Release Date: March 11th, 2012
Source: I received an ARC of this book in return for an honest review
PURCHASE: Amazon // B&N //Kobo

add-to-goodreads-button31

Synopsis

DOUBLE FAULT is the 2nd book in The Vortex Series where Cassie and Trent’s problems have only just begun. As they fight through the repercussions of creating a parallel world, other dangers are lurking. After years of running, Trent and his orphaned sister, Lorelai, sense the dangerous and power-hungry Dr. Fox is close to discovering their whereabouts.

While Cassie fears for Trent’s life, her tennis career hangs in the balance. Caught between her old and new life, she watches her world slowly crumble until it’s a tragic portrayal of all that she used to know. But worse yet, if her secret is revealed, she might lose what’s most dear to her heart.

My Feelings 

Going into Double Fault, I was really excited because I mean, that ending from Rematch just made me so darn happy 🙂 🙂 and this second installment of the series did NOT disappoint!! I met a whole new Cassie, the same, smoldering Trent and I got a little more of Lorelai and the others!! Definitely enjoyed this.

So, Double Fault pretty much starts off where Rematch ended, and Trent and Cassie are a happy couple, THANK GOD! 😉 But, just because they’re in this parallel universe that fixed the previous psychological problems Cassie was having doesn’t mean that everything’s perfect. Trent and Lorelai are still being following by PIs and hunted down for Trent’s special abilities, and then there’s the love triangle, or wannabe love triangle. (hint hint: Jeff) And then that twist in the middle of book? GREAT. But then the twist at the end? AMAZING. hehe. I absolutely loved how the book kept me on edge, and rooting for Trent and Cassie, and their survival through the entire novel.

The biggest change in this book from Rematch, had to be Cassie. In Rematch, she’s the shy girl filled with self-confidence issues due to the aftermath of her getting shot at a tennis match. In Rematch, her vulnerability and shyness really bled through the pages, and I felt it, and made me adore and hate her at times. 😉 But in Double Fault, it’s a whole different ball game! Now, Cassie had totally different issues. She’s a lot more confident in herself, and I loved that too!!! I didn’t expect to, just because I loved old Cassie so much, but I really did like the new Cassie, and to enhance her story, I loved her defiance and her determination to realize her OWN dreams, and make her own choices, instead of following her dad. I really admired her in this one, just like I did in Rematch, but for completely different reasons 🙂

AND TRENT? He’s still the lovely, swoonworthy boy that I fell for in Rematch. In this one, he’s a little more overbearing and protective, though, because of the whole love-triangle-with-Jeff thing. But, he still loves Cassie as much as he did in the other parallel universe, and he was still make me go “awwwwww” a LOT 😉 so no worries there. There’s still a whole lot of chemistry and love between those two! 🙂 YAY!

I loved that I got a reaaally good feel for both of them, though. There was a dual POV (which could be a little confusing at times, but it was fine most of the book) so I got my Trent thoughts *grins* and got my confident Cassie’s thoughts about everything. It was really cool. And because of this, I got a better feel for the supporting characters too, like Lorelai, Jeff, and of course, Nate. I loved Lorelai and Nate’s relationship AND I really enjoyed watching the brother-sister bond between Trent and Lorelai evolve. CUTE COUPLE DUO 🙂

YAYAYAY christina

I know, I know!

BUT DANG. THOSE TWISTS THO. I love when books surprise, and the first few twists in the book weren’t that surprising. I mean, I enjoyed them, but in the back of my head, I was kind of expecting them. They really made the book interesting, and the repercussions of them made the book that much more engaging, BUT THAT ENDING. OMG.

JOEY SHOCK

I was sooooo ready for Deuce right then and right there. best. idea.ever. Thanks for that, Janine Caldwell 😉

To this one, 4 LOVELY butterflies!!!

4 butterflies

Check out the rest of the series too though!!!!

The Vortex Series by Janine Caldwell

BOOK 1: Rematch- Amazon | B&N | Kobo | Goodreads |My Review

BOOK 3: Deuce- Amazon | Smashwords | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Double Fault by Janine Caldwell

  1. Pingback: BLOG TOUR (REVIEW + GIVEAWAY!!!): Deuce by Janine Caldwell | Booked by Books

Leave a Reply

