REVIEW: Kiss the Sky by Krista and Becca Ritchie ♥ ♥ ♥

Kiss the Sky Official Cover-2

Title: Kiss the Sky

Author: Krista and Becca Ritchie

Series: Spinoff of the Addicted Series

Release Date: January 24th, 2014

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Source: I received an ARC from the author in return for an honest review.

PURCHASE: Amazon, Barnes and Noble

add-to-goodreads-button31

Synopsis

Virgin. Sex addict. Daredevil. Alcoholic. Smartass … Jackass. Her five friends are about to be filmed. Reality TV, be prepared.

Rose Calloway thought she had everything under control. At twenty-three, she’s a Princeton graduate, an Academic Bowl champion, a fashion designer and the daughter of a Fortune 500 mogul. But with a sex addict as a sister and roommate, nothing comes easy.

After accepting help from a producer, Rose agrees to have her life filmed for a reality television show. The Hollywood exec is her last chance to revive her struggling fashion line, and boundaries begin to blur as she’s forced to make nice with a man who always has his way.

Twenty-four-year-old Connor Cobalt is a guy who bulldozes weak men. He’s confident, smart-as-hell and lives with his equally ambitious girlfriend, Rose Calloway. Connor has to find a way to protect Rose without ruining the show. Or else the producer will get what Connor has always wanted—Rose’s virginity.

This New Adult Standalone Romance can be described as Friends meets The Real World. Expect fist fights, drugs, sex of varying degrees, crude humor and competitive alpha males. Definitely for mature readersaudiences only.

myFeelings   🙂

HOLY FUDGEBUCKETS. I FUCKING LOVED THIS BOOK. As in, I am insane right now. As in I am in need of a second read. and a third. and a fourth. IT WAS THAT MIND-BLOWING. There is no doing this book justice. There are absolutely no words that can convey how amazing and heartfelt and SO DAMN REAL this book was. Every single second, I was in agony. I was scared of it ending; I was scared/excited/agonized/so damn happy for every upcoming moment. I was just in awe. *sigh* Such a beautiful story, and like I said, there are absolutely no words in this world that can describe how much this book hit me, and made me FEEL. but, here it goes!

First off, the story’s premise was like nothing I’ve ever read about before. It was completely new and unique, and I COULD NOT WAIT. It starts off from the end of Addicted for Now, which of course already introduced us to Rose and Connor. And we already know that they’re both sexy as hell and seriously badass, but no without their baggage, and in my opinion, a little hearless. SO, now, Rose, is trying to bring her business, Calloway Couture back up the market, after it took a hit after a rough past year. and what does she do? She signs her family for a freaking REALITY TV SHOW for publicity. At that point, I was just like, HELL TO THE YES. Drama. Romance. Racing emotions. I’m so ready. But, really, I wasn’t. I was mindblown every step of the way. There was really no predicting anything that was about to happen. And, how amazing is that? I’ve always been able to kind of predict an ending or an upcoming twist, but with Kiss the Sky? NUH UH. I was shocked by every turn of the page, and either jumping up and down, and screaming YOU GO (insert character here)!!!! or screaming GO TO HELL SCOTT!! Yeup. It was just that gooooood.

So, back to Rose. With this TV show, she has the have a producer. Guys, meet asshole producer Scott. Asshole producer Scott, meet the world. UGH. Scott made a large part of the book, but every time he entered the room, hatred rose, beginning from page one. The authors created an INCREDIBLE antagonist in Scott. BUT no damn antagonist was going to get in the way of that smoking hot, perfect-for-each-other couple. NOPE. Connor Cobalt+ Rose Calloway = no room for others .

I know I should have lowered my standards-dated a guy who rides around on his skateboard with his shirt inside-out. I grimace. Just kidding. I’ll take my suit-and-tie boyfriend. I’ll take the high IQ and the rapid-fire banter. I just hope Scott’s eagerness to unsettle him won’t disrupt the reality show.

But if I know anything it’s this”

My boyfriend loves winning.

And he hates to lose even more.

And with that I give you the reason why Scott was just an asshole who just gets his ass handed to him. Kind of. Maybe. Maybe not. (NO SPOILER ZONE 😉 ) ANYWAYS. Now, from stupid producer Scott, who just wanted to complicate everyone’s life, to ass-kicking Conner Cobalt. Aka the boyfriend. Aka my dream boy. Aka the man who makes any woman swoon. ohmygoodness. Where to start. Connor is the honest one. The blunt one. Yet, he’s the fixer. The overachiever. The one who goes to any lengths to fulfill his dreams, and protect the ones he loves. and DOES HE EVER.

Connor Cobalt is one piece of work, all in the good way, of course. But the part of this book that made it the most endearing to me was that his growth, and the fact that he becomes a LOVING person, with an actual, beating, caring heart. In the Addicted series, he was the one who did what it took to get things done. No-nonsense type of guy. But, in this one, Krista and Becca showed us every single raw emotion behind the decisions he’s made. The agony. The happiness. Everything. This book took me through Connor’s emotions behind the scenes, unlike the Addicted series, which only showed the results of his actions. AND DAMN. That was one tummy-dropping rollercoaster. Every single scene of him, I was going:

this is the best emma stone

Oh dear lord. I’m really never get over him

THEN, there’s Rose. She’s the one who belongs to Connor. Why? SO MANY DANG REASONS. but really, it’s because he not only understands her, but he poses a challenge to her every single step of their relationship, and again, that relationship, those challenges, and the SMOKIN chemistry between the two of them made the book come alive. I’m still reeling. *grins* Rose, however, is such a badass. it’s ridiculous. Every time she opened her mouth, she was on a roll, whether it be against Scott, or in favor of Lily or Connor, she was ON A ROLL. She really didn’t care about what others thought of her. She had her goals. Her dreams, and a family who she loved, and that’s all that mattered. Basically, she is the best female character EVER.

Ok, yeah. There is no talking about this book without talking about the heart-throbbing chemistry between Rose and Connor. IT FAN-FLIPPIN-TASTIC. I could NOT get enough of those two. The thing I loved most about their relationship was their gushing hearts. They opened up to each other, taking each step with love and jaw-dropping moments of affection. My previous thoughts of them from the Addicted series were that they were the most heartless ones out the group. But by the end of Kiss the Sky, I was BALLING. I was overrun by tears. I could not handle the growth I saw in Rose’s ability to accept love, and in Connor’s ability to give it. To believe that he could love Rose.

You’re not a pit stop. You’re my finish line. There’s no one after you. I kiss her powerfully, my tongue parting her lips…..I want you for eternity, not for a brief moment in time.

LIKE, who can reject THAT?! No one. Period. Rose and Connor were the perfect pair. Their HILARIOUS banter made me laugh every time, but more importantly, their unconditional support for each other made them better people, and brought out the best in both of them. AND THAT was what made the book and their story truly BEAUTIFUL. Im still in tears. I mean:

I CANT

basically.

AND SUPPORT SYSTEM STRIKES AGAIN. Lily and Lo, of course, adorable and HOT. The way they stayed strong for each other through the whole TV show and the aftermath still awes me, and this book was no different. BUT, for me, it was totally RYKE AND DAISY. OMG. RYKE in Kiss the Sky= 1012091230943X RYKE in the Addicted Series. There was so much tension in the air betweeen those two, and their story combined with Connor and Rose, omg. that’s all i’m going to say. BUT HONESTLY, I don’t know how Krista and Becca Ritchie created such unique, lovable, and badass characters. They all contributed to the book in soooo many ways, and it would not be the same without any one of them. The minor relationships added to that of Connor and Rose, and every character, from Lo to Ryke to Scott, helped Connor and Rose blossom as a couple, and that teamwork was brilliant.

This book was  emotional rollercoaster, but I wouldn’t change a second of it. In fact, I plan on experiencing it OVER and OVER. It is a MUST READ. Connor and Rose are such beautiful people, as are all the people around them, and this story was just so beautiful. *wipes away a tear* Thank you so much for bringing Connor and Rose into my life. Now I have the image of the perfect life. 🙂 This book was beyond everything I expected, and on a scale of 1 to 10, it was 49583024713923.

SO, that said, 6 FREAKING BUTTERFLIES to Kiss the Sky, even though it definitely deserves more 😉

6butterflies

Leave a Reply

