REVIEW: On Dublin Street by Samantha Young :)

On Dublin Street (On Dublin Street, #1)

Title: On Dublin Street

Author: Samantha Young

Series: On Dublin Street (#1)

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release Date: August 31st, 2012
Purchase: Amazon, Kindle, Barnes and Noble

Synopsis

Jocelyn Butler has been hiding from her past for years. But all her secrets are about to be laid bare…

Four years ago, Jocelyn left her tragic past behind in the States and started over in Scotland, burying her grief, ignoring her demons, and forging ahead without attachments. Her solitary life is working well—until she moves into a new apartment on Dublin Street where she meets a man who shakes her carefully guarded world to its core.

Braden Carmichael is used to getting what he wants, and he’s determined to get Jocelyn into his bed. Knowing how skittish she is about entering a relationship, Braden proposes an arrangement that will satisfy their intense attraction without any strings attached.

But after an intrigued Jocelyn accepts, she realizes that Braden won’t be satisfied with just mind-blowing passion. The stubborn Scotsman is intent on truly knowing her… down to the very soul.

MY Feelings🙂

EEEEPPP!!! THIS BOOK WAS BEAUTIFUL. I first looked it up because it was on so many favorites & hot-boyfriends shelves, so how could I resist, right?! WELL, best. decision. ever. I picked up On Dublin Street and I COULD NOT put it down. I LOVED LOVED LOVED every second of it. ❤

The story starts off with Jocelyn, aka Joss, looking for a roommate, but before she gets to her new-to-be apartment, she meets this HOT, and of course, OBNOXIOUS guy (Braden) who shares a taxi with her….YES. the first time I saw these two together, I was ready. I settled into my pillows because I KNEW it was going to be an amazing read, and boy, was I RIGHT.

Joss and Braden were truly an amazing couple. Yeah, they both had their issues, and of course, they both had their secrets, but the fact was, the only people who they could share their pains with were each other!! and THAT was what made it such a beautiful story. There were parts of the story where I was screaming at Joss, because I mean, no one, i mean NO ONE, should ever let go of someone as amazing as Braden. From the beginning, Braden was definitely the one 😉 Every single time he entered the room, everything heated up. HE WAS JUST THAT HOT. *swoooooon* His overprotectiveness, bluntness, and loving nature hooked me in from the start, and thank GOD for that wonderful, wonderful man.

And Joss was beautiful as well. I think the part about her that I liked/hated most was her insecurities. they made me love her, because it really showcased her vulnerable side, and honestly, I couldn’t help but FEEL for Joss every.single.time. She was dealt a harsh hand, but that was something that did shape her, and make her the beautiful, strong woman she was. BUT THEN (ugh) she really pushed her insecurities up as a wall…yup..that was the moment that kind of made me hate her…and yes, I MAY have been yelling and smacking a bit, but then I remembered the story and its beauty, and I was okay. as in, I was jumping up and down *victory dance*

I’m perfectly aware that I keep things from people and I know that it isn’t brave, but it’s how I handle things. When I told Braden, the world didn’t end. I felt brave for once. And that was kind of a relief.

its so beautiful (bawling)

^TRUE THAT. HAHA

So, again, I have GOT to dedicate at least a paragraph to the amazeballs support system on Dublin Street. UM YEAH, IM TALKIN ABOUT ELLIE 😉 that girl, *grins* oh, she was seriously the best. I think what I loved about her was that she had an innately kind heart, but then she could be this brutally honest, and sneaky one. HA! Adam. Take the jealousy, man. *smirks* 🙂 ANYWAYS, I loved Adam and Ellie’s little story on the side, because in my mind, it somewhat urged Joss to take everything she could with Braden as she saw Ellie suffering from the distance between her & Adam. And of course, sexual tension ALWAYS makes things better 😉

YES (FACIAL)

OH and the rest of Braden’s family? one thing. I WISH THEY WERE MY FAMILY. HAHA. They were all just so sweet and down-to earth. From Elodie’s kindness to the relationship Clark had with all of the kids *sigh* AND THEN there’s Hannah. Freaking Hannah. I wish I was as cool as her when I was her age 😉 Other than Ellie, she had to be my favorite family member. She cracked me up 🙂 The Carmichael family was one the best I’ve ever read about. They filled the gap in Joss’s life, that had torn her apart for so much of her life, and their brought some serious humor and happiness to the book 🙂 love them!

This novel was flawlessly written one. The words created visions in my head that made me do my happy dance, and I was sooooo freaking happy reading this one. It really was THAT good! On Dublin Street tells the story of a couple that, even through all their ups and downs, found their way back to each other, in the most romantic and perfectly fitting way ever.

5 DAMN BUTTERFLIES. no doubt about it 🙂

6butterflies

WANT TO READ THE REST OF THE SERIES?!?!?! 🙂

Book 1.1: An On Dublin Street Christmas 

Book 1.5: Until Fountain Bridge 

Book 2: Down London Road

Book 2.5: Castle Hill

Book 3: Before Jamaica Lane

Book 4: Fall from India Place (COMING JUNE 3rd, 2014!!!)

Leave a Reply

